What is the difference between Blockchain and Dropbox?

Working as a Blockchain architect I often hear this:
“We used Blockchain to share XXX information between XXX and XXX.”
Sounds like a Dropbox style use-case, right? Do you really need to use Blockchain to share information?
Those who are in the Blockchain space know that Blockchain isn’t ideal for information sharing use-cases. The most quoted answer is:
“Blockchain has very low bandwidth and storing information on it would be too expensive.”
That is true, but I prefer to point out that the system to share information already exists — it’s not Blockchcain; it’s called The Internet. The system to share information between organisations also exists, it’s called Email. Dropbox even outperformed Email for a pre-arranged consortium of organisations at the cost of additional requirements of centralisation.
We don’t need Blockchain to share information
I chose to explain it in this way so that I can open the conversation about what do we need Blockchain for.
Blockchain — and smart-contracts — are process oriented. It’s about conditional chain of events: something that happened so that something else can happen. Internet and Email are both about Information, not process.
Let’s take Bitcoin Blockchain for example. It is made of transactions. The “Something happens” is Alice giving money to Bob. The “Something else can happen” is Bob giving money to anyone he wants.
Hitchhikers Guide to Galaxy offered an explanation of the universe which applies well for Blockchain:
Anything that, in happening, causes something else to happen, causes something else to happen.
By explaining that “something happened”, I orient the conversation from “What needs to be shared and do we trust them to share it” to “What needs to happen (for the interest of everyone) and what needs to happen as a condition of it”.