Are public keys really public?

Originally published at: https://awallet.io/are-public-keys-really-public/

Usually, those who work with PKI, work behind the protection of software developers, technical support staff, professional organizations and business people. Despite the social ring the name has: ‘public key infrastructure’, those keys typically work in the fancy infrastructure while remaining pretty well segregated from the public.
Blockchain is based on digital signatures, which is the key part of PKI. Bitcoin’s popularity leads to a lot of use-cases of PKI being rediscussed and reapplied. As a Blockchain architect, I find myself explaining PKI again and again, through practice, I have refined the art in explaining it. This article is the shortest and most concise way of getting that job done. I first learned about PKI when I was merely 13 years old, a mesmerizing experience as I was dwelling in the state library of Gansu for months. Nevertheless, I intend to explain it in just a few minutes.
PKI for everyone to understand
This article is intended to make PKI understandable for anyone who can read up to this point.
This article intentionally does not cover Blockchain. It’s my day job to talk about Blockchain but for now, I prefer to give my reader a clearer picture of PKI.
Password is inadequate
A password is a useful tool for authenticating against a known, trusted party. Here’s a simplified example:
Insurance company:
Are you one of our users?
User:
Yes, here is my password.
That’s all that it does.
It is not useful when authenticating a 3rd party.
3rd Party:
Hey, are you a customer of the Insurance Company?
User:
Yes
3rd Party:
Prove it.
User:
Here is my password.
3rd Party: (logging in)
Seems right, okay.
3rd Party: Rolling his eyes: now I can assume your identity since I can login too…